Adding Members to a schedule group

To add members to a schedule group or reinvite members that have not responded, follow the steps below.

  • Within Petal Scheduling, three accounts types; Member, Administrative member, Planner, are available according to the needs.
  • Each member is associated to a unique identifier which is the email. If the member already exists in Petal, it will be retrieved.
  • Adding new members might have an impact on your institution's billing. Please, confirm with your person in charge.

 

Prerequisite

  • Connect to Portal with a planner profile
  • Have access to Group's calendar

Access in Petal

  • Home page > Left menu > Scheduling> Members and teams

Steps

  1. From your left menu bar, click on Scheduling, then select Members and teams.

  2. Click on the Members tab.

    The list of all members is displayed.

 

To add a new member

1. Click on  Add a member.

2. Under the Informations tab, enter the email of the new member and click on Verify.

(i)

  • If the member already exists in Petal, the account is displayed.

  • If the members are already active, members themselves are responsible of modifying their personal information and the fields are disabled for the planner.

  • If the member has not been activated yet, a planner has access to modify all fields, even if this member had been added by another group's planner.

 

3. In the Add a member window, several tabs allow you to enter the member's information. 

Under the Informations tab, under the Member information section, fill in the following fields.

  • If you choose the Account type Assistant or Administrator, the Specialty and License number fields are not required.
  • Click to certify that the member added to your group is related to your healthcare practice.
  • Click on Next.

4. Click on the Access tab. Fill in the following fields.

  • Scheduled member:  option selected upon creation. A scheduled member can be configured to receive shifts in schedules
  • Scheduling start date:  date from which the member will be eligible to shift assignment
  • Scheduling end date: member will removed from scheduling automatically at this date
  • Member name initials: for scheduled members only

  • Click on Next.

5. Click on the Role and permissions tab.

  • Select one of the available roles according to your needs.
  • If you are modifying a role for an existing member, the role and permissions will be modified immediateley upon saving the profile.
  • Click on Next.

 

Role

 Description

Regular member

For a planned member: Access to personal information and the group's scheduling information. The member will be able to perform activities allowed by the group's planner on their own tasks, and add absences and create personal events.

For a non-planned member (equivalent to a read-only member): Access to the group's calendar only, without permissions to perform changes, and access to other tools, out of the schedule, such as the messaging, documents and contacts.

Administrative member

 

For both planned and non-planned members: Mostly attributed to non-planned members for post-publication scheduling management. The member is allowed to perform adjustments to the other members' calendars through the group calendar, input absences for others or move shifts with regards to the group's configuration. They will also be notified of all shift trades.

Group Planner

 

For both planned and non-planned members: Can be given to more than one member; however, it is not suggested to access the planning tool with multiple users. Group Planners can access to the planning tool and to manage schedules after their publication. 

 

6. Click on the Teams tab.

  • By being assigned to a team, members inherit the shifts they can be assigned to.

  • Teams are sub-groups and are used as filters in the Planning Tool.

  • Changes to teams assignments are applied after the profile is saved.

  • For detailed information about teams, click here.

  • Click on Next.

7. Click on the Skills tab.

  • Skills represent the shifts that members of this group can be assigned on.
  • Changes are applied after the profile is saved.
  • Being assigned to the same skills allow members to exchange shifts.

     

     

8. Click on Save to add the member to your group.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-25_at_10.36.23_PM.png

9. When the profile is completed, click Yes or No on the confirmation message if this is scheduled member.

For a new scheduled member of an advanced group, you might need to adjust the script or constraints to manage the shifts distribution correctly. Please communicate with support to avoid any undesirable impact on your automated schedule generation.

 

10. Once the member is saved, it is now part of the group.

  • An activation email is sent to this new member.
  • If it is a planned member, it will be added to your current and future period unless the Scheduling start date is in the future.  

 

 

To reinvite a member

If an account has not been activated yet by the member after receiving the initial email, it is possible to send a reminder. 

 

1. From the Members tab, click on Reinvite.

 

2. The number of members who have not yet activated their account and to whom this invite will be sent is displayed.  Click on Send invite.